Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

please help! Project involving com port

COTTERCOTTER Member Posts: 15
I need to be able to send a string through the serial port but can't use any components that need to be installed as the program will be used on a college computer where the administrator has stopped anyone installing on the machines. Therefore I need something that requires no installation and it needs to work in both win98 and winNT. Is this possible and can anyone help?????

Please explain in detail as I'm still a novice.

many thanks

Comments

• RickListRickList Member Posts: 22
    : I need to be able to send a string through the serial port but can't use any components that need to be installed as the program will be used on a college computer where the administrator has stopped anyone installing on the machines. Therefore I need something that requires no installation and it needs to work in both win98 and winNT. Is this possible and can anyone help?????
    :
    : Please explain in detail as I'm still a novice.
    :
    : many thanks
    :
    Hi there,

There is a component which you can use in your Delphi programs ( http://www2.arnes.si/~sopecrni/ ) Then you just have to run the .Exe, so no install.

Richard
  • COTTERCOTTER Member Posts: 15
    : : I need to be able to send a string through the serial port but can't use any components that need to be installed as the program will be used on a college computer where the administrator has stopped anyone installing on the machines. Therefore I need something that requires no installation and it needs to work in both win98 and winNT. Is this possible and can anyone help?????
    : :
    : : Please explain in detail as I'm still a novice.
    : : many thanks
    : Hi there,
    :