Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Borland c/c++ builder 6 personal

vytalmanvytalman Member Posts: 3
I'm new to c/c++ and I was wondering if the Borland c/c++ builder 6 personal is the best tool for me to learn. I tried the 5.5 freeware and it doesn't include functions that work with the microprocessor (int86, regs and so on...). If it does work on this compiler, I would appreciate help on trying to make the compiler to recognize these functions, if not, is the borland 6 personal right for me?

Comments

• stoberstober Member Posts: 9,765 ✭✭✭
    : I'm new to c/c++ and I was wondering if the Borland c/c++ builder 6 personal is the best tool for me to learn. I tried the 5.5 freeware and it doesn't include functions that work with the microprocessor (int86, regs and so on...). If it does work on this compiler, I would appreciate help on trying to make the compiler to recognize these functions, if not, is the borland 6 personal right for me?
    :

The last time I saw that compiler, several years ago, it only worked on MS Windows, which can not use any of those functions you mentioned. You need to get one of the older Borland compilers for that. I hear-tell that Borland is giving them away for free on their web site.
  • vytalmanvytalman Member Posts: 3
    Hey bro thanx for being the first one to give me a straight answer. I've been going crazy trying to find out why it wouldn't work. I even went to freaking Borland itself. Now you mentioned that they were giving old versions of their c/c++ compiler for free. Would you know how I can download it? If not, how's the personal 6 compiler if you have used it before? I was thinking about purchasing one for school. Thanx again!
  • DariusDarius Member Posts: 1,666