Why Perl?

I'm fairly unfamiliar with Perl and was just wondering if anybody could explain to me what it's selling points would be, above other similar languages. I'm uncertain as to why anybody would take it up in the first place, as despite it's portability and relative ease of understanding, it seems to be in decline. In our current climate of falling investment in IT, I can't currently envisage many beginners in this field. I may be way off track here and I'd appreciate any opinions on this (supporting or contradictory) or stats as to how popular it really is.

Thanks,

Michelle

Comments

• Michelle,
    I have been a freelance Perl Programmer for last 3 years and have implemented it for web applications. Other uses include systems administration on *nix systems, as well as some Windows systems.
    One way to determine how active it is to see what kind of demand there is for it. Check out the project requests on sites such as elance.com and guru.com and it would seem if there is any decline, it would be minimal.

Dale
    Perl Moderator

: I'm fairly unfamiliar with Perl and was just wondering if anybody could explain to me what it's selling points would be, above other similar languages. I'm uncertain as to why anybody would take it up in the first place, as despite it's portability and relative ease of understanding, it seems to be in decline. In our current climate of falling investment in IT, I can't currently envisage many beginners in this field. I may be way off track here and I'd appreciate any opinions on this (supporting or contradictory) or stats as to how popular it really is.
    :
    : Thanks,
    :
    : Michelle
    :