Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Linux Multithreading :: C++

kuphrynkuphryn Member Posts: 266
Hi.

I have a simple questions for Linux programmers. I am a C++ programmers, but I have no experience working with multithreaded programming in Linux. I would like to understand fork().

For example, how many processes including main process does the following code produces?

code:--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
// p -> one child process

int main()
{
fork(); // p
fork(); // p
fork(); // p
fork(); // p

return 0;
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The code above will spawn a total of five processes including main. Is that accurate?

Secondly, I would like to know let say when you spawn a process using fork() I know the child-process will execute at that very instance and all the code after it. What if you spawn one child-process after another, does the total number of processes increases exponantially?

Lastly, if you spawn a child-process inside an if statement, will the child-process execute code outside of the if statement?

code:--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

int main()
{
fork();

// If child-process, then execute.
// fork() returns 0 for the child-process.

if (!forker()_
{
}

cout << "will the child-process execute this line?";

return 0;
}
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks,
Kuphryn

Comments

• button999button999 Member Posts: 1
    1. First Question....
    if you run below code, maybe total count of processes is above 5.
    main()
    {
    fork(); fork(); fork();
    }
    you must write like below...

int main()
    {
    switch(fork())
    {
    case -1: /* fork error */
    break;
    case 0: /* child */
    ... child process routine...
    default: /* parent */