Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Anyone able to help with text files?????

CraigKSWCraigKSW Member Posts: 1
[b][red]This message was edited by CraigKSW at 2002-10-15 5:4:41[/red][/b][hr]
Hi im a beginner at using Pascal and am required to write a program that reads from a text file and writes invalid records to an error file (also a text file) and valid records to the printer (I have made this a text file so as to see if it works properly first).

I understand that you can use Notepad to write text files but I can't seem to get them to work.

First of all im not sure that im writing my text file properly and if i am i don't know why it isn't writing the invalid and valid details accordingly.

Is there anyone who can possibly help on this matter.

Cheers

Comments

• ibyiby Member Posts: 323
    : [b][red]This message was edited by CraigKSW at 2002-10-15 5:4:41[/red][/b][hr]
    : Hi im a beginner at using Pascal and am required to write a program that reads from a text file and writes invalid records to an error file (also a text file) and valid records to the printer (I have made this a text file so as to see if it works properly first).
    :
    : I understand that you can use Notepad to write text files but I can't seem to get them to work.
    :
    : First of all im not sure that im writing my text file properly and if i am i don't know why it isn't writing the invalid and valid details accordingly.
    :
    : Is there anyone who can possibly help on this matter.
    :
    : Cheers
    :
    :
    :

First of all you MUST know what is the difference between
    valid and invalid lines. If you cannot tell the difference,
    you cannot write program that will do it for you.

Thing you need are all in TP help file (don't know about other
    compilers). Just check for TEXT, RESET, REWRITE etc.
    Help comes with sample programs as well. If you still have