Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

C++ getline()

lsvteclsvtec Member Posts: 6
[b][red]This message was edited by lsvtec at 2003-1-4 20:2:52[/red][/b][hr]
I am new to c++ and dont really understand the advantage of using getline().If you dont mind could you explain it to me.

thanks

Comments

• stoberstober Member Posts: 9,765 ✭✭✭
    : [b][red]This message was edited by lsvtec at 2003-1-4 20:2:52[/red][/b][hr]
    : I am new to c++ and dont really understand the advantage of using getline().If you dont mind could you explain it to me.
    :
    : thanks
    :
    :
    :

you use getline() to read an entire line of text form a file or stdin (user input at the keyboard). The line is normally terminated when the CR/LF (windows) or CR (unix) is encountered.
  • DariusDarius Member Posts: 1,666
    : : [b][red]This message was edited by lsvtec at 2003-1-4 20:2:52[/red][/b][hr]
    : : I am new to c++ and dont really understand the advantage of using getline().If you dont mind could you explain it to me.
    : :
    : : thanks
    :
    :
    : you use getline() to read an entire line of text form a file or stdin (user input at the keyboard). The line is normally terminated when the CR/LF (windows) or CR (unix) is encountered.
    :
    Actually CRLF ("
    ") is Windows, LF ('
    ') is Unix (the One True Endline Character) and CR ('
    ') is Mac. This is basically the main difference between opening a file in text mode and opening a file in "binary" mode (in text mode these are automatically converted to/from '
    ').

As to the original question: "understand the advantage of getline()" relative what? Or did you just mean what is getline() though it seems kind of obvious to me... maybe I'm just on the ball today.

"We can't do nothing and think someone else will make it right."
    -Kyoto Now, Bad Religion

• lsvteclsvtec Member Posts: 6