Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

form to form referencing...

dgm6780dgm6780 Member Posts: 2
I am pretty new to VB, just needed to get that out of the way. I am using an mdi form with a 3 button toolbar. The program starts with the mdi form + my home form. In my home form there are 2 option buttons. I want my buttons on the mdi form to show different things depending on which option was selected on the home form.

code from the home form:

Public Sub Command1_Click()

If opt15pt = True Then
service = 1

ElseIf optBasic = True Then
service = 2

Else
MsgBox ("Please choose the service level for this ")
End If

End Sub

***and code where I try to reference service in the button on the MDI form****

Private Sub Command1_Click()
If service = 1 Then
Upper.Show
Lower.Hide
Courtesy.Hide
ElseIf service = 2 Then
LofUpper.Show
lofLower.Hide
lofCourtesy.Hide
Else
MsgBox ("Still Not Working")
End If
End Sub

Any help is appreciated, right now the only place I have "service" declared is in the general area of the home form. I have been reading about how to build classes, is building a class the only way I am going to be able to get this to work?

Thanks
DGM

Comments

• KDivad LeahcimKDivad Leahcim Member Posts: 3,948
    You've kinda lost me, but I think what you want is:

[italic]FormName.ControlName.Property[/italic]

Basically, to reference the toolbar on another form, you need to start with the name of the form.

MDIForm1.Toolbar1......

: I am pretty new to VB, just needed to get that out of the way. I am using an mdi form with a 3 button toolbar. The program starts with the mdi form + my home form. In my home form there are 2 option buttons. I want my buttons on the mdi form to show different things depending on which option was selected on the home form.
    :
    : code from the home form:
    :
    : Public Sub Command1_Click()
    :
    : If opt15pt = True Then
    : service = 1
    :