Autocomplete text box

I have a mySQL table that houses an address book. (fields : firstname, lastname, address, phone, etc)

I have a PHP script that contains an HTML form.
On the form is a lastname field. As I start typing into the lastname form field, I would like it to autocomplete my entry with the contents of the lastname field from the table.

Is this only possible with client-side coding, such as javascript?

I am relatively new to PHP, but not clueless. Please give me some direction.

Comments

• : I have a mySQL table that houses an address book. (fields : firstname, lastname, address, phone, etc)
    :
    : I have a PHP script that contains an HTML form.
    : On the form is a lastname field. As I start typing into the lastname form field, I would like it to autocomplete my entry with the contents of the lastname field from the table.
    :
    : Is this only possible with client-side coding, such as javascript?
    :
    : I am relatively new to PHP, but not clueless. Please give me some direction.
    :

It is completely impossible.. even with javascript (i think)

I don't believe there is a function that checks wiether a user has clicked on a key.. like onKeyPress.. in javascript, but there might be.

The only way to do it is with, yes, a client-side program written in a real programming language like c or vb that works as an addon for a browser..

I could be wrong but i am SURE that php cannot do it
    [b][blue]Snoochie Boochies[/blue][/b]

• : : I have a mySQL table that houses an address book. (fields : firstname, lastname, address, phone, etc)
    : :
    : : I have a PHP script that contains an HTML form.
    : : On the form is a lastname field. As I start typing into the lastname form field, I would like it to autocomplete my entry with the contents of the lastname field from the table.
    : : Is this only possible with client-side coding, such as javascript?
    : : I am relatively new to PHP, but not clueless. Please give me some direction.