ActiveX twin in .Net

So I'm new to VB.net, but not to VB. In VB6 you had the ability to create ActiveX objects that you could use in future programs. I have noticed though, that this feature is not available in .net. My guess would be that it was removed because .net is now completely Object Oriented.

The question, how do create the equal to an ActiveX object in .net? Lets pretend I'm making a board game... and I want the Board to be it's own control as it's used in both the game and the Map Editor. In VB6, I would create a Board ActiveX object and import it into both projects. How do I acheive the same results in .Net without the use of ActiveX Controls?

Comments

• : So I'm new to VB.net, but not to VB. In VB6 you had the ability to create ActiveX objects that you could use in future programs. I have noticed though, that this feature is not available in .net. My guess would be that it was removed because .net is now completely Object Oriented.
    :
    : The question, how do create the equal to an ActiveX object in .net? Lets pretend I'm making a board game... and I want the Board to be it's own control as it's used in both the game and the Map Editor. In VB6, I would create a Board ActiveX object and import it into both projects. How do I acheive the same results in .Net without the use of ActiveX Controls?
    :

Research leads me to believe that you use a Control Template on the New Project page. Yet I don't have this... nor do I have the Class Template either. Are these things only available in the pro version?
  • : : So I'm new to VB.net, but not to VB. In VB6 you had the ability to create ActiveX objects that you could use in future programs. I have noticed though, that this feature is not available in .net. My guess would be that it was removed because .net is now completely Object Oriented.
    : :