Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

need 16-bit program to generate tones

dnraikesdnraikes Member Posts: 3
I am a newbie with c programming, but I need an application which I can run from a dos boot disk which will generate various tones.

I am blind, and want to use it to tell me where I am in a batch script.
My preference would be to accept command-line parameters for the frequencies to play, then generate the tones accordingly for a set length of time.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Comments

• Griz803Griz803 Member Posts: 100
    : I am a newbie with c programming, but I need an application which I can run from a dos boot disk which will generate various tones.
    :
    : I am blind, and want to use it to tell me where I am in a batch script.
    : My preference would be to accept command-line parameters for the frequencies to play, then generate the tones accordingly for a set length of time.
    :
    : Any suggestions would be appreciated.
    :
    That shouldn't be too difficult. First, if you have the Borland Turbo C++ version 2.0 or higher compiler, there are functions in the dos.h library that will make generating a tone over a PC speaker very easy. The first is called sound and is called with the frequency you want to
    use. The second is nosound and will turn the tone off. The third is delay and is called with the number of milliseconds to wait. During delay, the program just stops and waits. Another alternative to delay is sleep, which does the same and takes a value in seconds. If you don't have Turbo C++ (which will also compile C), you can get it from
    http://community.borland.com/article/20841 as a download link. The next couple of links give you information about and examples on taking command line arguments. http://www.its.strath.ac.uk/courses/c/subsection3_4_5.html#SECTION0004500000000000000