Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Which Visual C++ should i study?

kevanwoodcockkevanwoodcock Member Posts: 172
I am confused and could use some advice. I am an experienced C programmer and Win32 API user. I have studied C++ console projects only but never used c++ in a project. Now i would like to write some nice windows code. I have decided to study C++ visual because it seems to be a good industry standard. However, when ever i google visual C++ tutor i find tutors for MFC, console/dos, win32 API , Windows Forms and c++ 6 (i think). So what should i study? I have DEVCPP and Visual c++ 2005 express.

any advice?

cheers
kev

Comments

• stoberstober Member Posts: 9,765 ✭✭✭
    : I am confused and could use some advice. I am an experienced C programmer and Win32 API user. I have studied C++ console projects only but never used c++ in a project. Now i would like to write some nice windows code. I have decided to study C++ visual because it seems to be a good industry standard. However, when ever i google visual C++ tutor i find tutors for MFC, console/dos, win32 API , Windows Forms and c++ 6 (i think). So what should i study? I have DEVCPP and Visual c++ 2005 express.
    :
    : any advice?
    :
    : cheers
    : kev
    :
    :

>> C++ visual because it seems to be a good industry standar

Only for writing MS-Windows programs

You should be using Visual C++ 2005 if you want to learn c++ as well as MS-Windows programming. You can still get the Express edition free from Microsoft. Other versions will cost you lots of $$$$. If money is not a problem for you, them buy Visual Studio .NET Professional edition (it contains c++, C#, VB and some other tools)

• kevanwoodcockkevanwoodcock Member Posts: 172