The use of.....%2f

Hi !

I started studying towards to the final exam!!! That's going to be on a week Thursday sitting 3hrs in the classroom...

Anyway, the outout of using %f or %2f (pr %1f, %3f...) doesn't seem to be different but the use of numbers in between % and f(or d or whatever) is introduced without the explanation and I wondered why..?

float number = 2.22;

printf("Print in normal style: %f
", number);
printf("Print with 2 in it: %2f
", number);
printf("Print with 3 in it: %3f
", number);

All above outputs exactly the same!

Do you know why..?

Comments

• : Hi !
    :
    : I started studying towards to the final exam!!! That's going to be on a week Thursday sitting 3hrs in the classroom...
    :
    : Anyway, the outout of using %f or %2f (pr %1f, %3f...) doesn't seem to be different but the use of numbers in between % and f(or d or whatever) is introduced without the explanation and I wondered why..?
    :
    : float number = 2.22;
    :
    : printf("Print in normal style: %f
    ", number);
    : printf("Print with 2 in it: %2f
    ", number);
    : printf("Print with 3 in it: %3f
    ", number);
    :
    : All above outputs exactly the same!
    :
    : Do you know why..?
    :
    It shouldn't be the same:
    [code]
    [italic]Note the blanks before the number[/italic]
    %f should print:

%2f should print:

%3f should print:

%3.5f should print:
    [/code]
    I didn't try it, but that's how it should be.

Greets,
    Eric Goldstein
    http://www.gvh-maatwerk.nl

• [b][red]This message was edited by stober at 2006-8-4 6:23:14[/red][/b][hr]
    :
    : printf("Print in normal style: %f
    ", number);
    : printf("Print with 2 in it: %[red].2f[/red], number);
    : printf("Print with 3 in it: %[red].3f[/red]
    ", number);
    :
    :

If you want the output to contain a different number of decmal places then you must put a decimal point between % and the number