Visual C++ 2003 (Visual Studio 2003) How to compile?

Hello folks,

I'm new to C++ and wanting to self teach everything. Here is my problem, I am using Visual Studio 2003, full version. I have downloaded a file for a C++ tutorial from this site.

[hr]

[code]
// Chapter 1 - Program 1

#include /* This is the stream definition file */

void print_it(const int data_value);

main()
{
const int START = 3; // The value of START cannot be changed
const int STOP = 9; // The value of STOP cannot be changed
volatile int CENTER = 6; /* The value of CENTER may be changed
by something external to this
program. */
int index; /* A normal C variable */

for (index = START ; index < STOP ; index++)
print_it(index);
} /* End of program */

void print_it(const int data_value)
{
cout << "The value of the index is " << data_value << "
";
}

// Result of execution
//
// The value of the index is 3
// The value of the index is 4
// The value of the index is 5
// The value of the index is 6
// The value of the index is 7
// The value of the index is 8

[/code]
[hr]

I double click this and open this .cpp per the instructions, but with the window that it opens in I cannot find a way to compile it and see the results as the instructions state. I am curious if anyone familiar with the software can direct me to how to make it compile so I can begin learning C++? :)

Comments

• : Hello folks,
    :
    : I'm new to C++ and wanting to self teach everything. Here is my problem, I am using Visual Studio 2003, full version. I have downloaded a file for a C++ tutorial from this site.
    :
    : [hr]
    :
    : [code]
    : // Chapter 1 - Program 1
    :
    : #include /* This is the stream definition file */
    :
    : void print_it(const int data_value);
    :
    : main()
    : {
    : const int START = 3; // The value of START cannot be changed
    : const int STOP = 9; // The value of STOP cannot be changed
    : volatile int CENTER = 6; /* The value of CENTER may be changed