Code Assessment

Hi everyone! I'm new to Programmers' Heaven and programming. I took the intiative recently to teach myself C# programming. Currently I'm reading the book "Microsoft C Sharp Programming for the Absolute Beginner" by Andy Harris. I've found the book easy to read and follow. But I started experimenting with the code presented in the first chapter and I've run into bugs already! Every time I compile I get the error message, "Index (zero based) must be greater than or equal to zero and less than the size of the argument list." while using string interpolation. I've posted the code below (I'm using Visual C# 2008 express edition). The code is for a simple program I created for practice with variables, strings, and the console class. If someone could please explain to me what the problem is and how I can fix it, I'd be grateful. Also, if any of you have any tips or resources for a completely new programmer like me, that would be appreciated as well. Thank you! :D

Code:

using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.Linq;
using System.Text;

namespace Console_Quote_Application
{
class Program
{
static void Main(string[] args)
{
string Quote;
string Author;

Console.Write("Please enter your favorite quote without quotes around it: ");
Quote = Console.ReadLine();
Console.Write("Now please enter the name of the person responsible for the quote: ");
Author = Console.ReadLine();
Console.Write("{1} once said "", Author);
Console.Write("{0}"", Quote);
Console.ReadLine();
}
}
}

Comments

• in the statement
    [code]
    Console.Write("{1} once said "", Author);
    [/code]

you are doing something called a string format. Everywhere you have a number inside of {} one of the arguments after the initial string will be inserted.