Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

What's the best c++ editor for linux?

grathgrath Member Posts: 1
What's the best c++ editor for linux? I just got linux, and im just starting to learn c++. I tryed vim but its a little more complicated than i want. If anyone knows of a good c++ editor that is easy to start using and preferrably has a graphical interface please tell me.
Thanks,
Bob

Comments

• gautamgautam Member Posts: 642
    : What's the best c++ editor for linux? I just got linux, and im just starting to learn c++. I tryed vim but its a little more complicated than i want. If anyone knows of a good c++ editor that is easy to start using and preferrably has a graphical interface please tell me.
    : Thanks,
    : Bob
    :

Try Kdevelop. - I am not sure how good it is though.

• XfactorXfactor Member Posts: 343
    : What's the best c++ editor for linux? I just got linux, and im just starting to learn c++. I tryed vim but its a little more complicated than i want. If anyone knows of a good c++ editor that is easy to start using and preferrably has a graphical interface please tell me.
    :

A really simple editor is pico. Type 'man pico' without the quotes. This will give you more info on pico. I prefer emacs or Xemacs. They are easy to use.

• Jeff P.Jeff P. Member Posts: 196
    A couple of things you might want to look at:

Anjuta is a complete IDE-style environment,
    somewhat similar to MSVC++. It supports the concept of "projects"
    it can automatically create makefiles, scripts, etc....
    See:
    http://anjuta.sourceforge.net/

Nedit is a basic text editor, quite similar to Windows Notepad
    ( on the surface ) but MUCH more powerful. it supports syntax
    highlighting for many different programming languages,
    record/playback macros, a customizable "shell" menu
    (you can add "gcc" to the shell menu to compile your code
    from within the editor).