6502 Processor Emulator

I've created a C++ library that (hopefully) emulates the 6502 (maybe part of the 65C02) processor. I believe it was used in the Commodore, as well as the Nintendo Entertainment System. I've created it as a step toward creating my first emulator, for the NES. However, to put it lightly, the docs I've found suck, so I'm not sure I've implemented every instruction appropriately. To help debug it, I'm creating an application similar to windows' debug that will allow me to essentially program for the 6502 and trace the code. But seeing as how knowing how to program for the 6502 and knowing what each instruction does are essentially the same thing, I must say I don't really know how to program for the 6502.

So, to the point. If anyone has 6502 (and/or 65C02) source code they could donate to my cause, I'd appreciate it. And if you're interested in taking a more active role as an experienced 6502 programmer, I'd appreciate that as well.

If so, contact me by email (anthem.dsl@verizon.net) or ICQ (2063124).

Thanks,
James

Comments

• Hi!

Interesting project! How do you get this far if you don't know how to program in 6502?

There are sites that focus on 6502, such as:
    http://www.npsnet.com/danf/cbm/cross-development.html

They have links to simulators and debuggers there, as well as cross-compilers, which I would assume you need since you don't actually have a 6502 to compile with.

There's also a bit of info at this site on instruction sets, history, and Commodore and Apple (both of which used 6502) as well as some Nintendo info:

http://www.geocities.com/SiliconValley/Byte/6508/6502/english/index.htm

Finally, http://www.6502.org/ is packed with info, links, and message boards geared toward the 6502 fanatic!

Have fun!

Melissa

• : How do you get this far if you don't know how to program in 6502?

Well, I didn't mean to say I don't know how to programin in 6502. It's just a matter of not knowing exactly what every instruction does.