Clear screen

For command-line programs in C and C++, is there a standard library function to clear the screen? I've looked pretty carefully, but have found none. (I realize that it is easy to write one oneself, but I figure that this would just add a bit more unnecessary clutter to my code.)

And while I'm at it, since I'm new to message boards, I was just wondering: Whenever somebody posts an answer to one of my questions and solves my problem, my natural impulse is to e-mail that person to say thanks. However, I thought I had better check on the obvious etiquette issue: Is e-mailing one's thanks considered unnecessary, or perhaps even a minor annoyance (i.e., yet another e-mail to read)? Or on the contrary, is this appreciated? Alternatively, perhaps I should just say "thanks in advance" when posting my question? What is the established practice in this regard?

Comments

• : For command-line programs in C and C++, is there a standard library function to clear the screen? I've looked pretty carefully, but have found none. (I realize that it is easy to write one oneself, but I figure that this would just add a bit more unnecessary clutter to my code.)

No, there is no standard function to clear the screen. The standard doesn't think of screens and keyboards, everything is just a stream. If you are going to do complex console manipulation (and that may include even simple things like clearing the screen) then you should use a cross-platform library such as ncurses or SLang. For clearing the screen though, you can just spew a bunch of newlines out and that should get the necessary effect.

: