*Sigh* Newbies.

It always amazes me the people who get their first book or take their first course on programming, barely get past declaring variables, and suddenly want to design applications that rival Sun or Microsoft.

"Hi, I'm new to programming and I was wondering if anyone could help me... I'd like to design a web server with multiple T1 connection routing, 5,000 user capacity, and piggyback a game server with a massively-multiplayer real-time first-person 3D shooter application, all written by me in Visual Basic. Oh, and it'd be nice if I could throw in an Office-like suite on the side. Any help you can offer would be greatly appreciated."

*Sigh* I'm one of the top-ranked programmers in my country, and [italic]I[/italic] can't even do some of the things these newbies are asking me. At least, not without declaring full project status and activating a team. (And we only do [italic]that[/italic], my friends, when someone is paying the bill.)

Take Care.
Cody

Comments

• Yes, some people have over active imaginations. Maybe its those E factors in bubble gum... Or perhaps the influence of watching some of those lame hollywood films where it is possible to type 4000 PWM without a single typo. Also why do computers in hollywood make noises like dot matrix printers when screen output scrolls down the screen?

How did you find HK? I was going to come over but I got ill on the 15 and pretty much stayed that way for a week later.

I would go back again.. and again and again.
  • : Yes, some people have over active imaginations. Maybe its those E factors in bubble gum... Or perhaps the influence of watching some of those lame hollywood films where it is possible to type 4000 PWM without a single typo. Also why do computers in hollywood make noises like dot matrix printers when screen output scrolls down the screen?

I love it when the noobs say "I'm new to VB. I want to write my own OS, please send source!".