C# and XML

Hello,

I am new to C# and new to this board... I am trying to write a little tiny ASP page (C# code behind) that would take me about 15 minutes in ColdFusion. That said, I am not using CF, but C# is kicking my butt. Here's what I am trying to do:

I have an XML file (3 of the 18 lines are below)

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>

I need to read from this file and output the results in a table on an ASP page (C# behind). I will not be writing back to the file, reading only. The 'dog pic' field is the image name without the .jpg at the end, I need the picture in the first column, the breed in the second and the info in the third, and for the life of me I can not get it to work. I tried an array and a databinding and about 5 other things and now I don't get any errors, but I don't get output either.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks very much,

Michelle

Comments

• It's quite easy once you get the hang of it

Here are the steps:

1. New ASP.NET application.
    2. In your form, add a data grid, say DataGrid1.
    3. Go to the code behind page, in your Page_Load event, enter this code:
    [code]
    if(!IsPostBack)
    {
    DataSet ds = new DataSet("Dogs");
    // make sure to fix this to the real path to dogs.xml
    ds.ReadXml(@x:full pathdogs.xml);
    DataGrid1.DataSource = ds;
    DataGrid1.DataBind();
    }
    [/code]
    Run, see that it works. And that's all the code you need.

Although the default data binding works fine so far, the data grid aint pretty, lets fix that:

1. Goto the properties of the data grid, change "AutoGenerateColumns" to false.
    2. Now we're gonna generate those columns manually, right click the data grid and select "Property Builder"
    3. Select "Columns" from the left side, you want the first column to be the picture, so select "Bound Column" as its type, set the header text to "Image" and data field to "dogPic".