Converting Delphi 4 component to .NET/ActiveX

Hello all,

I hope one of you can help me. I've been given the task of taking a custom component we have in Delphi 4 and getting it into VB.NET. Now apparently I have two options, convert it to an ActiveX component or convert it to a .NET DLL?? I'm only a noob software developer and haven't used any .NET or ActiveX stuff, just C I'm afraid.

Anyway _apparently_ you can do this with Delphi 7 Pro (or higher)? You can download the converter from Borland. Unfortunately we don't have Delphi 7 so before someone suggests this it's not an option I'm afraid. Nor is outsourcing, I have to do this using just the tools we have, free tools we can download, some string, cellotape and a pipe cleaner.

Can anyone point out where to start, a guide, a tool, a feature in .NET or something so I have a clue please how I would go about getting this component from Delphi 4 into .NET.

Thanks very much for your help! If you think this is more appropriate in a Delphi forum please let me know.

Russ

Comments

• : Hello all,
    :
    : I hope one of you can help me. I've been given the task of taking a custom component we have in Delphi 4 and getting it into VB.NET. Now apparently I have two options, convert it to an ActiveX component or convert it to a .NET DLL?? I'm only a noob software developer and haven't used any .NET or ActiveX stuff, just C I'm afraid.
    :
    : Anyway _apparently_ you can do this with Delphi 7 Pro (or higher)? You can download the converter from Borland. Unfortunately we don't have Delphi 7 so before someone suggests this it's not an option I'm afraid. Nor is outsourcing, I have to do this using just the tools we have, free tools we can download, some string, cellotape and a pipe cleaner.
    :
    : Can anyone point out where to start, a guide, a tool, a feature in .NET or something so I have a clue please how I would go about getting this component from Delphi 4 into .NET.
    :