perl vs. c++

Hey.

I was wondering if anyone can tell me the advantages perl has to C/C++?
What is the disadvantages of perl compared to C/C++?
How's the performance of perl programs compared to C/C++ programs?
Is perl object oriented?
Can you use low level programming, like assembly in perl?

I am a c++ programmer, but I have heard that perl is even more powerful.
As for myself, I have my doubts, but that is what I am trying to find out :)

I hope anyone can give me some good answers, hopefully not just "Perl kicks C's ass" or "C sucks" or "Perl sucks" or something like that :)

Thanks in advance for any replies :)

Comments

• Hi,

D'oh. I just dropped a fizzy cola bottle sweet in my cup of tea. Anyway, your question...

: I was wondering if anyone can tell me the advantages perl has to
    : C/C++?
    I'd say you get a higher level of abstraction. In C/C++ you often have to worry about memory allocation, you are working directly with pointers meaning you can easily write a segfaulting app if you ain't careful, and if you want to work with strings you have to call a set of functions to do it. In Perl you don't have to worry about those kinds of thing, or other niggly things. You get a lot of built in stuff too. C/C++ has a large collection of libraries, and a largue exist for Perl too, so doing database access, GUI apps, etc. is reatively easy. Also, as Perl is interpretted, you

: What is the disadvantages of perl compared to C/C++?