Creating your own OS

As I have read before, Visual Basic can make apps, but is limited by the fact that it can't create an OS. I heard that C could do that. Well, after a long week of searching for the software, I decided to ask for some advice. In all your opinions, what is the best programming languge to use to make an OS? And what version, or type of that language? Because I asked for C, and they asked what type of compiler. Thanks for your responses!
- S. Tranton

Comments

• : As I have read before, Visual Basic can make apps, but is limited by the fact that it can't create an OS. I heard that C could do that. Well, after a long week of searching for the software, I decided to ask for some advice. In all your opinions, what is the best programming languge to use to make an OS? And what version, or type of that language? Because I asked for C, and they asked what type of compiler. Thanks for your responses!
    : - S. Tranton
    :

Well I have no experience in writing operating systems but as far as I am aware C and C++ with assembler in parts are usually the preferred options. There are a couple of open source OSs out on the net if you browse around. Try sourceforge.
  • Java will help you get to grips with some of the concepts...
    OSes are indeed programmed in C & Assembly... Tho I'm not sure about C++ It would make a certain amount of sense to use C++, but C is supposed to be faster.

Java is a simpler language, and takes a lot of the intricacies out of C/C++ (eg pointers) and so, is a much easier language to learn stuff in.
    /*

Those of you who believe in
    psychokenesis, raise my hand.

*/

• Creating an OS isn't that easy.. I'm currenty trying to develop one...
    I'm programming in c/c++ and assembly using compilers:
    GCC/DJGPP - for c/c++ (DJGPP are the DOS/Win-version)
    NASM - for assembly

Lots of information:
    www.osdev.net
    http://www.mega-tokyo.com/os/os-faq.html

Download compilers (free)