Poll: What's your age and how much experience do you have?

[b][red]This message was edited by Wannabean333 at 2004-1-27 16:9:48[/red][/b][hr]
I'm 15 and I've been programming on and off for 2 years now. I started with basic c++ (no pointers) and ive been doing pretty well. I don't know very much but I'm satisfied with my progress. I'm just wondering how much experience everyone that uses this site has and how old you all are. I also would like to know how people here got started programming. I'm just curious.

"It's only worth what someone will pay for it."
-Wannabean333 (*********)

Comments

• : I'm 15 and I've been programming on and off for 2 years now. I
    : started with basic c++ (no pointers) and ive been doing pretty
    : well. I don't know very much but I'm satisfied with my progress.
    : I'm just wondering how much experience everyone that uses this site
    : has and how old you all are. I also would like to know how people
    : here got started programming. I'm just curious.
    :
    I'm 19 (as of yesterday!) and got started when I was about 8. That was on a BBC Micro, using its BASIC interpreter. Over the years I played with QBasic and VB. Since getting access to the internet, I've learnt all sorts (if only I'd had access to it at a younger age!). I'm pretty good in Perl, OK in C (I started learning it in October last year so I could write an audio engine - it's doing well and I like the language), and I've played with C#.Net, amongst other things. I know stuff like HTML, CSS, SQL, etc. I'm currently at university doing a computer science degree. I guess I could say I have 10 years experience, though that doesn't mean I'm any good. :-)

: "It's only worth what someone will pay for it."
    : -Wannabean333 (*********)
    No. The most worthwhile things are the things that people choose to use. And the tools I love to use most are generally free.

Hope this satisfies your curiosity,

Jonathan

###