Generating a random number

Hello.

I am a newbie to VB and have recently installed VB6. I used to do a little BASIC on my Commodore 64 but obviously that was quite some time ago! On that machine however it was easy to generate a random number, say between 0 and 10, with a simple line of code (though I can't remember what that was).

What I am looking to do is generate a genuinely random number, say between 0 and 10. How would I make 'a' for instance, have a random value between 0 and 10?

I have found the 'rnd' command but have read that the number generated would be repeated and so you use 'randomise' but to be honest I didn't really understand what it was all about. All I am looking to do is assign a genuine randomly generated value to 'a' for instance. Can you help me?

Your assistance would be appreciated.
Regards,
Chris.

Comments

• : Hello.
    :
    : I am a newbie to VB and have recently installed VB6. I used to do a little BASIC on my Commodore 64 but obviously that was quite some time ago! On that machine however it was easy to generate a random number, say between 0 and 10, with a simple line of code (though I can't remember what that was).
    :
    : What I am looking to do is generate a genuinely random number, say between 0 and 10. How would I make 'a' for instance, have a random value between 0 and 10?
    :
    : I have found the 'rnd' command but have read that the number generated would be repeated and so you use 'randomise' but to be honest I didn't really understand what it was all about. All I am looking to do is assign a genuine randomly generated value to 'a' for instance. Can you help me?
    :
    : Your assistance would be appreciated.
    : Regards,
    : Chris.
    :
    :
    to use randomize you simply put it in the form load event of your form(you don't want it called more then once)

then where ever you want your random number you would have something like the following:
    dim intrand as integer