I need help in unix script programming

Hi.
I am a beginner, and i would need some help in resolving a few 'problems'.
The first one is:
I nned to write a unix script that takes as parameters two random length whole numbers whitout signals, and outputs the two numbers product to the standard output. If the multiplication succeded, then it shoud return 0, else 1 to the status output of the command. (if it is 1 then i should put the corresponding error message to the standard error output. The parameters may contain leading 0-s, but the output may not.
And the script may NOT use the bc and dc commands, also these strings may not be part of the script!
This would be one problem, that i didn't understand how to resolve.
If anyone could help me, I would appreciate it.
Thx. Gogo

Comments

• : Hi.
    : I am a beginner, and i would need some help in resolving a few 'problems'.
    : The first one is:
    : I nned to write a unix script that takes as parameters two random length whole numbers whitout signals, and outputs the two numbers product to the standard output. If the multiplication succeded, then it shoud return 0, else 1 to the status output of the command. (if it is 1 then i should put the corresponding error message to the standard error output. The parameters may contain leading 0-s, but the output may not.
    : And the script may NOT use the bc and dc commands, also these strings may not be part of the script!
    : This would be one problem, that i didn't understand how to resolve.
    : If anyone could help me, I would appreciate it.
    : Thx. Gogo
    :

Hi,

maybe something like this?

[code]
    #!/bin/bash

PROD=$(( $1 * $2 ))

if [ $? -eq 0 ]
    then
    echo $PROD
    exit 0
    else
    exit 1
    fi
    [/code]

Hope this will help.

regards
    [black]SaThaRiel[/black]

[size=1][blue]Any time things appear to be going better, you have overlooked something.[/blue][/size]

• : Hi,
    :
    : maybe something like this?
    :
    : [code]