Why ain't this code running properly?

2»

Comments

• : : : [b][red]This message was edited by opiumdreamer at 2004-9-30 8:17:51[/red][/b][hr]
    : : : : How would you do this in TASM
    : : : : [code]
    : : : : mov di, OLDVID
    : : : :
    : : : : Maybe?
    : : : : mov di, offset OLDVID
    : : : : [/code]
    : : : : Just curious, I'm use to using NASM and I'm still learning myself. :-)
    : : :
    : : : The first one is correct. I use masm syntax but assemble the code with tasm but for that matter, if using TASMs IDEAL mode the mov instruction would look exactly the same: mov dest,source
    : : : mov di,offset VARIABLE would put the offset to VARIABLE into di as expected and in this case it is not wanted since I want to transfer the data from AL that will contain the current video mode after the [b]mov ah,0Fh[/b] has been executed and that is why i need to store that very value into the variable OLDVID or any other place. one does not always know what mode it was in when executed.
    : : : (I'll send you the executable)
    : :
    : : [red]Now[/red] I'm even more confused, gotta go back to the books before spamming the horse out of this place. just noticed when assembled those instructions in a previous post of yours concerning this matter.
    : : when assembling this
    : : [code]
    : : mov bx,OLDVID
    : : mov al,[bx]
    : : [/code]
    : : I get an error that says:
    : : [b]Assembling file: Prog5-5.asm
    : : mov bx,OLDVID
    : : **Error** Prog5-5.asm(116) Operand types do not match
    : : [/b]
    : : but when prefixing the offset in front of OLDVID it is legal as shown
    : : [code]
    : : mov bx,offset OLDVID
    : : mov al,[bx]
    : : [/code]
    : : [b]Tool completed successfully[/b]
    : : so it appears that, at least when using TASM,
    : : [code]mov reg,VARIABLE[/code]
    : : is not the same as
    : : [code]mov reg,offset VARIABLE[/code]
    : : :/
    : [green]