Array and Listbox

Im new to programming please help me.
I

Comments

• seancampbellseancampbell Pennsylvania, USA
    What exactly do you need?

So basically you want to create a program that opens a Text file, inputs the text into a Multiline Texbox, make changes, click Update and have those changes be saved? Or are you doing something else?

Please elaborate on what you are trying to do and I will be glad to assist.
  • : What exactly do you need?
    :
    : So basically you want to create a program that opens a Text file,
    : inputs the text into a Multiline Texbox, make changes, click Update
    : and have those changes be saved? Or are you doing something else?
    :
    : Please elaborate on what you are trying to do and I will be glad to
    : assist.

Basically i want to design a membership Name and Telephone List form using the following command buttons.

Edit
    Add New;
    Update;
    Delete;
    Cancel;
    Save;
    Clear, and
    Exit

The names and phone numbers of members are stored in a sequential text file called MEMBERS.TXT which i have created.

When the program is loaded, names and telephone numbers should be read from the file and stored in an array or arrays in memory and then, from memory, the names and telephone numbers are displayed in alphabetical names sequence in a list box.

I used two textboxs to hold the Name and the other to hold the Number

When a name in the listbox is selected (clicked) the name and corresponding phone number should be should be displayed in the textboxes but i cant manage to do this.

To change any fields, the user first uses the Edit button to enable the textboxes to be changed.

The user makes the amendments to the textboxes and uses the update button to effect the change in memory. I need your help on this too.

To delete an item, Delete is used. But i dont know how to do this using sequantial Files. Thanks for your help.