[help]which pro is more popular in USA&Canada? Which should I learn?

[help]which pro is more popular in USA&Canada? Which should I learn?
hi,
I'm a rookie of program. My major is not computer. I ever work in some software company, and I found I must learn some language asap.
I fell puzzled, C++ Java .net, they're important.
But as a beginner which should I learn, I found there're some lessons and tranning all about Java and .net, but there is no C/C++ lesson.

I wish I could do C++ later. some programmer told me that I can learn Java at first, and then, after tranning, when I find another job, I may learn some C++ after that. Hope I could become a experiened guy.
Besides I wanna work in the USA and Canada in the future.

so my question is
1, Which tranning cause should I learn now. (Java .net C++)
2, Which program language is more popular in America?Canada.

thanks a lot~

PS I've asked a education tranning company, their java course about 5 months, .net tranning about 3.5 months

Comments

• You should decide what kind of programming you want to do. If you want to do desktop and web programming, learn Java or C# together with some web stuff and databases. If you want to make games and 3D programs, learn C++ and DirectX or OpenGL. If you want to do embedded-, realtime and hardware-related programming, learn C, C++ and some assembler. Learning assembler is a good idea no matter what programming you are doing.

I would avoid VB and Delphi/Pascal, since those don't languages probably don't have much of a future.

A degree helps to get a job, but you should especially have in mind that a professional programmer needs at least 3 years of work experience before they can do decent programs. Even more before they can make good programs. If someone tells you they learnt for example C++ in a month, they learned the syntax only. That isn't a big deal, the main thing to learn is how to structure your programs, making them stable and easy to maintain.
  • ok, thanks alot.