Data Validation

Hi, I am a beginner in vb.NET. I would like to know that how to check the validation of data entered by the user when they leave the textbox.

Besides that, I would like to know how am i going to display the number of records inside a database in a textbox.

Thanks.

Comments

• Hi,
    The word validation means are looking to format the textbox by certain rules...

some samples.

datme = Format(TextBox24.Text, "dd/MM/yyyy HH:mm ")
    LTrim(textbox1.Text).Substring(0, 1)
    Textbox -casing - upper

Can be useful for verifying the strings.

Are you looking for this? Is it enough?

• Thanks for your reply.

Did I make any mistake in the terms I used ? If there is pls correct me.

Actually my question is how to check whether the data enter into the textbox match the field or not ,and an error message will pop up the moment the user move away from the textbox, if the data is invalid for the particular field. For example, if the field is product ID, how to ensure that the user only enter number and not alphabets.

Another question is I have a database containing two tables - Product Info and product supplier. I have a window form now and there is a textbox in it which will display the number of records that have been saved into the database. How to code the textbox so that it will show the correct number of records even after we add or delete records from the database.

Thanks for your help.
  • Suppose you are having datatable contains the data.[dtb4]

Dim DTB3 As New DataTable
    Dim query3 As String = "select * from emp_master order by
    len(emp_id),emp_id"
    Dim DS2 As New DataSet

con.ConnectionString = ConStr
    con.Open()
    Dim DA3 As SqlClient.SqlDataAdapter = New SqlClient.SqlDataAdapter(query3, con)
    DA3.Fill(DS2)
    con.close()
    DTB3 = DS2.Tables(0)

For 2nd Question
    textbox1.text=dtb3.rows.count

---------------------------------------------------------

For 1st Question

From your Textbox-keydown