Subclassing windows

Hello,

I've been digging through pages and pages of Google search results looking for some good examples on subclassing and hooking windows in C#, but have yet to find anything that adequately explains how to do so. I'm relatively new to C# and C++, so the the few things I've found thus far are pretty confusing to me. Maybe someone here can take a moment and point me in the right direction.

Here's what I'm trying to do, if possible: I want to subclass a FireFox window so I can intercept and inject messages to it.

Comments

• I believe you can use the Process class to grab a specific process

var ff = Process.GetProcessesByName("FireFox").FirstOrDefault();

and from there you can grab the primary windows handle

var hndl = ff.MainWindowHandle

and then instantiate a window using the "Form" class

var win = Form.FromHandle(hndl);

buuuuut - I'm not sure your evironment is going to allow this since that would violate protected memory.

what exactly is it you are trying to do?
    ><//~Psightoplasm`~
  • Honestly, I'm not trying to accomplish anything in particular, just messing around for now. I coded a in VB back when I was younger and just recently started messing around with C#. I'm just curious as to what exactly I can do with the language. I've been fooling with Java for over a year now and after realizing how much of a PIMA it is, I decided to switch my focus to C#.

But anyways, I'm just trying to control Firefox from a C# app (to automate tasks). I don't need to be able to subclass it right away but eventually I would like to. I'm using SendMessage to send cmds, but I can't figure out how to get the handles of specific controls so I can send cmds to them indvidually. When I figure that out, I'll try to subclass so I can capture msgs.

• Fair enough. - C# actually inherits from Java, but yes - it has some huge advantages, especially in its library and the fact that it is native to the windows environment.