StringTokenizer class

hello every one
i have been programming in C++ since 2005, but i am novice to JAVA world
i've coded a very simple exercise that asks to tokenize a string into tokens then sort them and finally print tokens each in line.
i wrote the following code
[code]
import java.util.StringTokenizer;
public class Ex3 {
public static void main(String[] args) {
String s = "Hello world, Hello C++, Hello Java all of these programs are your first programming projects";
StringTokenizer st = new StringTokenizer(s);
String[] sarr = new String[st.countTokens()];
for(int i=0; i 0) {
String tmp = sarr[i];
sarr[i] = sarr[j];
sarr[j] = tmp;
}
}
}
System.out.println(s);
for(int i=0; i<st.countTokens(); i++)
System.out.println(sarr[i]);
}
}
[/code]
expecting the following result:
C++, Hello, Hello, Hello, JAVA, all, are, first, of, programming, programs, projects, these, world, your.
but i got the following result:
C++, Hello, Hello, Hello, Java, all, world.
where is the rest ?

Comments

• Hi luckyboy, StringTokenizer is deprecated. The following code is shorter and works better:

[code]public static void main(String[] args) {
    String s = "Hello world, Hello C++, Hello Java all of these programs are your first programming projects";
    String[] tokens = s.split(",");

for(int i=0; i<tokens.length; i++) {
    tokens[i] = tokens[i].trim();
    System.out.println(tokens[i]);
    }
    }[/code]
  • Sorry, I didn't see that you also needed to sort them. Just mix your original code with this code and you should be sorted (heh) :)
  • [code] String s = "Hello world, Hello C++, Hello Java all of these programs are your first programming projects";
    String[] tokens = s.split(",");
    for (int i = 0; i < tokens.length; i++) tokens[i] = tokens[i].trim();
    Arrays.sort(tokens);
    for(int i=0; i<tokens.length; i++) System.out.println(tokens[i]);[/code]
  • thanks a lot, but i didn't understand Why the error happened ?
    where is the rest?