C/C++ Open CV

Hi
I am engineering student, currently working in image processing.
I have big issue in understanding few basic concepts in programming. To be frank I am beginner, so my question will look silly, so please tolerate with me and if anyone can help me it would be much use full for me.

I started learning image Process using Matlab. it very easy using the Matlab function for ie : it need only one single line to open image. But my problem is I want to create the same algorithm in C or C++.
But if I want to create the same algorithm for mobile application I need to convert in to c or c++.But in c/c++ it will take 10 to 15 line for a single image open process.

So I am confused here can we use open CV and create the same mobile application? Or what is the use of open CV. And even I saw there are many different libraries for image processing, so I am confused in which way to go , what is the difference in all this libraries available out there and how to choose the right way for my need.
The below site give few sample http://www.xdp.it/cximage.htm
So please let me know, what is the difference between writing a program in C/C++, or using Open CV in C/C++ . Can we use both codes for creating application?

Thank You
kumar

Comments

• >what is the difference between writing a program in C/C++, or using Open CV in C/C++ . Can we use both codes for creating application?

what???
    C/C++ is a programming language, OpenCV is a library for processing images. Whats the difference? In C/C++ alone you don't have OpenCV for processing images, you add one library and you get the features of that particular library.
    I don't know for what mobile platforms(if any) is ported OpenCV. You should check or ask on the opencv mailing list. http://groups.yahoo.com/group/OpenCV/

What do you need to do with the image? Do you really need OpenCV? (Calculating histograms on the image, Detecting faces, etc etc) What mobile platform are you using?