Career change Business to Programming, advice where to start?

Hi All,
After going back and forth, I have finally made up my mind that I want to make a career change from business to computer programming (though I am not ruling out something like a DBA either). Though I have very little programming experience, in the past in my free time at my current job, I naturally found myself developing excel programs using basic VBA to automate tedious tasks that normally took a very long time. I find myself trying to get my "normal" work done as fast as I can so I can start working on my applications, that's when I really get in a flow, and I love it. And in general, I just prefer to work on computers rather than talking to lots of people all day as I do now. So, that said, my experience has been only in business for the past 3.5 years, after I graduated with an undergrad degree in Marketing.