Macro to read list and fill binary matrix

Hello,

I am trying to tackle an idea I had for a macro. I'm very new to macros and have only created a few of them.

I have a list of dates from a 60 year time span. I have created a table, columns being years, rows being months and days. I want to read the list of dates I have then find that date in the table. Example, the list date is 1/3/1950; I need to find the 1/3 row and 1950 column and put a value of 1 in the cell. For all other dates not in the list I need values of 0.

My idea is to have the macro loop through the list. Each date it will read from the left to the second "/", and someone find the row corresponding to that date. Then it will read the first four digits from the right, and find the corresponding column. Where these two intersect, a value of 1 will be placed.

Is this possible, or am I getting way over my head?

Comments

• I have formatted the list of dates into 60 columns, each column corresponding to each year in the time span. These columns range from B to BI. There are a different number of dates for each year, ranging from 1 to 22 records. These records are listed in rows 370 to 392. The rows for the table I need to fill in with 0 and 1 values are indexed in Column BK from rows 2 to 366. Columns BI to DS are delegated for each year in the 60 year time span.

• [code]Dim obCurCell As Object, obCurCell2 As Object
    Dim loX As Long

For Each obCurCell In Range("D371:D372")
    For Each obCurCell2 In Range("C3:C367")
    If obCurCell.Value = obCurCell2.Value Then
    loX = obCurCell2.Row
    Range("D" & loX) = 1
    End If
    Next
    Next

End Sub[/code]

This code works for the first column. I need my obCurCell to loop from Column D to Column BK, and I need my obCurCell Range to loop from row 371 to 392.