Coding assistance needed...

SephirothSephiroth Fayetteville, NC, USA
I need somebody that can either help explain to me the operation of a 3D engine (no more advanced than the one used in Hexen/Strife), or somebody who is willing to code one with me for my game. I've got the rest of the code squared away, but I cannot grasp the 3D concept for the life of me. I've been told it uses sin/cos, but I've never used those before and don't know what they do or what value they hold. Once again, I'm not looking for information on or help coding some new "Unreal" or "Quake" engine. A simple Doom engine would be perfect. I appreciate any help that anybody can offer. Oh, and I am posting this in the Games Programming messageboard as well, since it's a game engine that I am looking for.

-[italic][b][red]S[/red][purple]e[/purple][blue]p[/blue][green]h[/green][red]i[/red][purple]r[/purple][blue]o[/blue][green]t[/green][red]h[/red]

Comments

• What are you looking at putting the graphics out on? Is this a dos game or are you using windows?

• SephirothSephiroth Fayetteville, NC, USA
    It's Win9X, of course.

-[italic][b][red]S[/red][purple]e[/purple][blue]p[/blue][green]h[/green][red]i[/red][purple]r[/purple][blue]o[/blue][green]t[/green][red]h[/red]

• : It's Win9X, of course.

In which case, why bother going to the metal on a 3D engine, when you can simply use Direct3D (or OpenGL)? As long as you can grasp the concept of 3D space, you shouldn't have any difficulty with it, and it'll be much faster.

Try the tutorials in the DirectX 8 SDK. They'll have you loading meshes and texture-mapping in no time.
    --
    [italic][blue]Sunlight[/blue][/italic]