What should I learn first?

I've been out of the workforce for several years (homemaker) and am considering education in the computer industry. It seems everyone I talk to has constant problems with their pc's and no one has the time or patience to deal with these problems. Most of the problems people experience relate to software or systems crashing due to viruses. From what I've seen regarding computer courses, it would take a lifetime to learn EVERYTHING. Does anyone have any suggestions as to what I should be pursuing to educate myself in computer repair (software related issues) - is programming skills necessary? Also I have no experience in DOS - is it necessary to learn DOS? I am not interested in replacing hardware, but rather diagnosing problems and if the issue is software related finding and implementing solutions. If anyone has any suggestions or online resources to assist me, I'd appreciate the help!

Comments

• : I've been out of the workforce for several years (homemaker) and am considering education in the computer industry. It seems everyone I talk to has constant problems with their pc's and no one has the time or patience to deal with these problems. Most of the problems people experience relate to software or systems crashing due to viruses. From what I've seen regarding computer courses, it would take a lifetime to learn EVERYTHING. Does anyone have any suggestions as to what I should be pursuing to educate myself in computer repair (software related issues) - is programming skills necessary? Also I have no experience in DOS - is it necessary to learn DOS? I am not interested in replacing hardware, but rather diagnosing problems and if the issue is software related finding and implementing solutions. If anyone has any suggestions or online resources to assist me, I'd appreciate the help!

These days I don't think that DOS is really necessary. As for programming languages, the shift is towards object oriented programming.