Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

int statement

Josh CodeJosh Code Member Posts: 675
I am quite new to programming in assembly and still don't know what the "int" instruction does. I learned that you can reboot a computer with and call dos procedures but I want to know more about what it does and why it's used.

Comments

• geek_guygeek_guy Member Posts: 1
    The int instruction is a way of telling the CPU that your program is desperate for the CPU's attention. It typically tells the computer to do something depending on the values in different registers. And yeah it can boot you out of DOS if you include the following statement in your program:
    int 19h

: I am quite new to programming in assembly and still don't know what the "int" instruction does. I learned that you can reboot a computer with and call dos procedures but I want to know more about what it does and why it's used.
    :

• Sephiroth2Sephiroth2 Member Posts: 423
    : I am quite new to programming in assembly and still don't know what the "int" instruction does. I learned that you can reboot a computer with and call dos procedures but I want to know more about what it does and why it's used.
    :
    The INT instruction executes an interrupt. The processor will push CS, IP and the flags onto the stack. Then it fetches the next IP and CS from a table at 0000:0000. However, in protected mode it retrieves the new address from the IDT instead, which contains interrupt, trap or task gates.
  • DariusDarius Member Posts: 1,666
    :